Why you shouldn’t ask is whey gluten free?

0
345
is whey gluten free

Gluten is a protein that can be found in grains such as wheat, barley, and rye. The intolerance towards gluten makes it difficult to consume products that contain gluten as such people are gluten-sensitive. You might be facing similar condition, or you may also have come across people who are intolerant towards gluten. Since many individuals are not aware of the products or food items that contain gluten so they are also curious to know that is whey gluten free? To avoid any complications, it is important to determine that which products or food items are gluten-free.

What is Whey? Is Whey Gluten Free?

img1Whey protein, is found in milk and other dairy products. It is considered to be a highly nutritious source of protein. About 20% of the protein in milk is whey. It can be easily removed during the cheese-making process and is isolated for use in other food items. Whey protein’s isolated powder is usually used as a substitute of gluten in recipes as it is safe for people who are on a gluten-free diet. Whey does not react as gluten does in individuals with gluten-related disorders.

Signs of Gluten Allergy

Generally, the intolerance or sensitivity caused by gluten is due to the reaction of immune system towards the protein. Medically, there are also gluten-related disorders such as Celiac disease and gluten sensitivity. In celiac disease, when the immune system encounters gluten, it attacks the cell lining of the small intestine. On the other hand, gluten sensitivity does not cause such severe problem; rather it involves a mild immune response to gluten which may lead to different symptoms of sensitivity such as

In celiac disease, when the immune system encounters gluten, it attacks the cell lining of the small intestine. On the other hand, gluten sensitivity does not cause such severe problem; rather it involves a mild immune response to gluten which may lead to different symptoms of sensitivity such as headaches, fatigue or an irritable bowel.

Some foods that you should avoid during gluten-free diet includes barley, wheat, farina, bulgur, graham flour, durum flour and rye.

The 100% pure whey protein is naturally gluten-free; however, you might be concerned about some versions of whey protein which contain peptide bound glutamine that is derived from wheat protein. If you are gluten sensitive or have celiac disease, then you should avoid using such products.

Handy tip to find is whey gluten free: If you have any doubt, you can either call the product’s manufacturer or read the label to clarify your concerns.

What foods contain gluten?

– Protein bars and beverages usually include both types of proteins, so if you are sensitive to gluten, then it’s better to check the ingredient list.

– Some foods that you should avoid during gluten-free diet includes barley, wheat, farina, bulgur, graham flour, durum flour and rye.

– Moreover, individuals who are gluten sensitive might be allergic to milk or sensitive to lactose as well, so consuming products with whey may cause them reaction for this reason.

If you are on a gluten-free diet, it can be difficult for you to determine which foods are acceptable or not.
WG

Whey protein powder is derived from milk as it is the byproduct of cheese making process. When the curds are separates from liquid whey, it is then filtered and dehydrated.

The pure whey protein powder is a dairy product and completely free of gluten.

Hidden sources of gluten are also present in many foods, including cereals, desserts, bread, luncheon meats, soup, and sauces. You can check out gluten free breakfast recipes for some tempting meals that can enhance your taste buds without letting you feel left out.

So does whey have gluten in it?

Whey is extracted from milk and is fine completely for gluten-sensitive people, as long as the food item does not contain any source of gluten.

However, commercially sold whey powders vary widely in what they contain, and some varieties do contain traces of gluten.

Some of the whey powders available in the market are absolutely gluten-free.  However, Jay Robb’s website (a weight loss expert and owner of a premium brand of protein in America) states a fact that whey is processed in a facility that processes some other products which may contain wheat. This may increase the probability of finding some traces of wheat in whey powders.

WHEY

It is very simple to make whey at home. You just need two ingredients and few supplies to make liquid whey.

Ingredients:

2 cups Milk

1 lemon

Method: Bring the milk to boil and gradually add few drops of lemon until you can see the formation of curd in the milk. Once the curd is separated from the liquid; Strain the curd to get liquid whey.

It shouldn’t be tricky now to understand the underlying concept behind cheese making. Hope you get the answers and you know now is whey gluten free or not.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here